Poker News

For the first time ever, the poker playing public will be able to submit nominations for the Women in Poker Hall of Fame Class of 2010. The induction ceremonies will be held over Labor Day weekend in Las Vegas.

Nominations will only be accepted until April 30th. Eleven days later, the official ballot will be announced. In order to be considered, each female star must have been an active player in the industry for 15 years and, according to a press release distributed by the Women in Poker Hall of Fame last week, “have contributed to the world of poker in some significant way. This person can qualify by either winning major poker tournaments or by making significant contributions to the industry.”

Finally, in a unique nominating twist, each candidate “must be a proponent of women’s poker. Even if she does not play in women’s events, she must support them.” In prior years, voting was only open to members. Now, in a similar process as the Poker Hall of Fame, voting is open to the general public.

No monetary guidelines are given for consideration. Women in Poker Hall of Fame Board member Karina Jett added in the same release, “The nomination process is important and we feel there are women out there who are eligible and deserving. We’re inviting the public to help us assemble worthy candidates for this year’s ballot.” Jett final tabled two ladies-only events during the 2004 World Series of Poker (WSOP).

Once the final ballot is compiled and released, voting will also be open to the general public. This time around, the public’s opinion will count for half of the final determination, while Women in Poker Hall of Fame members and those who have already been enshrined will count for the other half of the vote. The nomination process is fairly straightforward and uses a simple web form available on the Women in Poker Hall of Fame website. Each voter must submit his or her name and e-mail address along with up to three candidates. For each nominee, voters can write out why they feel she is deserving of a Women in Poker Hall of Fame nod.

Members of the Women in Poker Hall of Fame Board include Jett, Ladies International Poker Series (LIPS) founder Lupe Soto, poker pro Maureen Feduniak, Ocean’s Eleven Casino Marketing Director Suzanne Carter, Howard Lederer’s better half Susie Lederer, and production manager Gyla Whitlow.

The enshrinement for the Women in Poker Hall of Fame Class of 2010 will take place on September 3rd at the Golden Nugget in Downtown Las Vegas and feature Jan Fisher serving as the Master of Ceremonies. Fisher was enshrined as part of the Hall’s second class in 2009 alongside June Field and Cyndy Violette. One year prior, the Hall’s founding class included Poker News Daily Guest Columnist Linda Johnson, Marsha Waggoner, Susie Isaacs, and Barbara Enright. Tickets for the 2010 enshrinement ceremony are $75 and can be purchased online using a major credit card. All tickets are tax deductible.

Founding members of the Women in Poker Hall of Fame include a bevy of male donators, including Bellagio Director of Poker Operations Doug Dalton, WSOP Media Director Nolan Dalla, “Cowboy” Kenna James, Chip Jett, Mel Judah, tournament director Matt Savage, and Poker Hall of Fame member Mike Sexton.

Last year, the Poker Hall of Fame accepted nominees for induction from the general public, ultimately producing a list of nine players. Then, a panel of media members determined the final inductees. In the end, Sexton became the lone member of the Poker Hall of Fame Class of 2009.

Cast your vote now by visiting the official website of the Women in Poker Hall of Fame.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.