Just as we predicted there would be, there are just 16 players remaining in the 2022 World Poker Tour (WPT) Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown heading into Day 4 (disclaimer: the fact that the WPT specifically said that Day 3 would end with 16 players greatly informed our prediction). And for the second day in a row, it is Mark Davis who leads the way, bagging 14.4 million chips to end Monday night.

Former WPT Player of the Year runner-up Darren Elias, clearly no stranger to deep runs in World Poker Tour events, is close behind Davis with 13.775 million chips. The two of them are the only players above the 10 million-chip mark.

And Davis’ story on Monday was similar to Sunday night, as he used a late push to take the chip lead. It could have been greater, but he gave David Moore a 1 million-chip double-up as the night neared a close.

Play ended on Day 3 When Elias eliminated Adam Hendrix in 17th place. They both saw the A-4-2 flop for the minimum, prompting Hendrix to check. Elias bet 150,000 and Hendrix made the call. With a 9 on the turn, Hendrix checked again, Elias bet 525,000, and then Hendrix moved all-in for around 2.1 million. Elias made a quick call, which could not have made Hendrix feel confident about his A-T.

Of all the times to make a big move, despite having a solid hand. Elias flipped over 5-3 for the flopped wheel. Hendrix was drawing dead.

And so just 16 players out of the original 2,010 entries still have chips. Of those 16, Darren Elias and third place James Calderaro have won World Poker Tour titles previously.

Day 4 is just now starting in the midst of Level 27. The plan is to go until the six-handed final table is determined. There will be no Day 5 tomorrow. Instead, the six members of the final table will fly to Las Vegas next month to finish the tournament in front of the cameras at the HyperX Esports Arena on May 25.

2022 World Poker Tour Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown – Day 3 Chip Counts

  1. Mark Davis – 14,400,000
  2. Darren Elias – 13,775,000
  3. James Calderaro – 9,675,000
  4. Michael Laufer – 9,300,000
  5. Andrew Barfield – 8,775,000
  6. Carlos Dorca – 6,800,000
  7. Robert Lofaso – 6,450,000
  8. Robert Georato – 6,100,000
  9. Viet Vo – 5,500,000
  10. Andrew Davidson – 5,200,000
  11. Benjamin Miner – 4,800,000
  12. James Kousouros – 2,725,000
  13. David Moore – 2,500,000
  14. Christian Harder – 2,350,000
  15. Vinny Pahuja – 1,725,000
  16. Marcos Exterkotter – 1,100,000

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.