Now well into its second week, the 2020 online WSOP has been consistent with its field sizes and prize pools. As they prepare to start up the “international” leg of the 2020 online WSOP on GGPoker, will continue to have tournaments up until the end of July. Getting ready to start the second weekend of this year’s festivities, two more tournaments wrapped up their action.

Event #15 Won By ‘PhilLaak’ in Marathon Event

On Wednesday, Pot Limit Omaha took to the virtual stage at the online WSOP and they decided to put on a show. After nearly a twelve-hour battle, ‘PhilLaak’ was the champ, but it isn’t the Phil Laak that many might be thinking of!

In what was one of the smaller fields for a tournament this year, only 386 players showed up for the $1000 Eight-Max Pot Limit Omaha tournament. Those players weren’t shy about tossing around the rebuys, however, as they put in another 277 of rebuys towards the final prize pool The $629,850 prize pool put together after late registration would be divvied up by the final 99 players, with some notable names tacking on some cash to their accounts.

The leader of the “Player of the Series” race at this time, 2020 online WSOP bracelet winner Robert ‘bustinballs’ Kuhn made another deep run in a tournament, this time finishing up Event #15 in 15th place for a $5400 payday. He was joined at the virtual cash out cage by Jesse ‘mrjessejames’ Sylvia, Calvin ‘projector52’ Anderson, and Poker Hall of Famer Erik ‘NW1Time’ Seidel, who finished 60th in the tournament.

The final table featured some star power in three-time World Poker Tour and two-time WSOP bracelet winner Anthony ‘heheh’ Zinno and triple WSOP bracelet winner Matt ‘jacksup’ Matros, but both were on the short stack from the start. In fact, it was a monumental clash between these two that brought the first elimination, with Zinno falling after his flopped set of Aces failed to catch up with Matros’ turned diamond flush. Matros wasn’t long for the tournament either, going out in seventh when he ran his pocket Kings into Blake ‘shampainpopn’ Whittington’s pocket Aces.

The ‘PhilLaak’ in the tournament was Guy Dunlap, and he sat back and watched as the carnage continued. He was challenged by the runner-up in Event #6, Shane ‘danish01’ Daniels, who came to the heads-up match facing a 2:1 deficit to Dunlap. Just as he did in Event #6, however, Daniels couldn’t get the mojo working and ran into Dunlap’s pocket Aces. While he would miss his club flush draw, Daniels would have to once again settle for second place as Dunlap picked up the championship of the event.

1. Guy ‘PhilLaak’ Dunlap, $133,780
2. Shane ‘danish01’ Daniels, $82,069
3. Todd ‘chi.t.420’ Sladek, $56,749
4. Jacob ‘Bandit275’ Powers, $39,870
5. Keith ‘thxsimgod’ Ferrera, $28,469
6. Blake ‘shampainpopn’ Whittington, $20,659
7. Matt ‘jacksup’ Matros, $15,305
8. Anthony ‘heheh’ Zinno, $11,526

‘Heezahustla’ Captures the Crown in Turbo Battle

Making the 12-hour time of the PLO event on Wednesday look like a marathon, the seven and a half hours of Event #16, the $500 No Limit Hold’em Turbo event, seemed like a relative spring. There were 1044 dedicated players for the tournament who put up another 484 rebuys to set a $687,600 prize pool for the competitors. Only 248 players would receive a piece of the pool and the play throughout the tournament was frenetic.

Already with a second place finish and a 2020 online WSOP bracelet under his belt, Ryan ‘Im.Sorry’ Torgerson picked up another cash in this event, joined by Daniel ‘DNegs’ Negreanu, Phillip ‘tomte’ Yeh and a player at the final table of Event #15, Whittington. Once Ryan ‘WHOSYOURDODD’ Dodd was knocked off in tenth place, the final table was set with Lev ‘Methinks’ Milman holding a big chip lead over the other eight players.

There was one player that wasn’t fazed by the chip disparity, however. ‘Heezahustla’ started off by eliminating ‘cbmezz99’ in ninth place, then took out ‘Mojoesmarc’ in fourth place. ‘Heezahustla’ would make his big move in doubling up through Milman during three handed play, his rivered heart flush besting Milman’s trip Aces. Once he took down Milman in third place, ‘Heezahustla’ took almost a 3:1 lead to heads up action against Julian ‘Julian’ Parmann.

Parmann put up a good fight in the turbo event, but eventually the blinds would just catch up with his stack. Holding only about 10 big blinds, he would push in with an A-3 and ‘Heezahustla’ made the call with a lesser A-2. A deuce on the flop changed the fortunes, however, and once a trey failed to come for Parmann, the first “unknown” champion of the 2020 online WSOP was crowned in ‘Heezahustla.’

1. ‘Heezahustla,’ $116,204
2. Julian ‘Julian’ Parmann, $71,648
3. Lev ‘Methinks’ Milman, $51,570
4. ‘Mojoesmarc,’ $37,474
5. ‘Andrea ‘Andrewbull88’ Buonocore, $27,573
6. Daniel ‘StayActive’ Chan, $20,490
7. ‘http401,’ $15,402
8. Phillip ‘AvonB’ Rhodes, $11,689
9. ‘cbmezz99,’ $9008

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.