The 2023 World Series of Poker has come to and end and the poker world is celebrating Daniel Weinman, who won the biggest Main Event in Series history. Loads of other players had WSOPs to remember, whether they won a bracelet (or two), made a profit, or simply got to experience the world’s greatest poker festival for the first time. One man with plenty to be happy about is Ian Matakis, who won the 2023 WSOP Player of the Year title.

With 5,203.89 points, Matakis easily outpaced Shaun Deeb, who finished with 4,276.12 points. Rounding out the top five were Chris Brewer (4,127.62), Josh Arieh (3,938.62), and Jesse Lonis (3,865.70).

Matakis cashed 22 times at the 2023 WSOP, nine of which were in online events. He won one gold bracelet, in Online Event #2: $500 No-Limit Hold’em Bankroll Builder, scoring a $120,686 payday. His biggest cash, however, was $205,696 from a third place finish in Event #82: $3,000 6-Handed Pot-Limit Omaha. He also had another cash just shy of $200,000.

Counting his bracelet win, Matakis had six top-ten finishes and ten top-20 finishes. His total cashes amounted to $869,791.

In a tweet on Tuesday, Matakis called it an “honor” to join the ranks of previous WSOP Players of the Year and thanked everyone who cheered him on:

Runner-up Shaun Deeb, who is known to shoot for Player of the Year titles, had a couple more cashes than did Matakis, including one bracelet himself, but the difference (without diving into the nitty-gritty of the scoring formula), was likely the high finishes. Counting his win, Deeb had four top-ten finishes, including second place in Online Event #3: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Deepstack. He only tacked on two more top-20 finishes, compared to Matakis’ ten.

Brewer had two bracelet wins, but not nearly the number of overall cashes that Matakis did, while Arieh also had two bracelets and lots of cashes, but nearly the total number of top finishes as Matakis. Regardless, they all had fantastic runs this summer.

Arieh won Player of the Year in 2021 and Deeb claimed the title in 2018. They were both double-bracelet winners in those years; Arieh had seven final tables and 12 cashes in 2021, while Deeb had five final tables and 20 cashes in 2018.

According to the WSOP’s website, only one person had won Player of the Year, which dates back to 2004, more than once: Daniel Negreanu, who won in 2004 and 2013.

For winning the 2023 World Series of Poker Player of the Year tile, Matakis gets a free seat in next year’s WSOP Main Event, a special trophy, and a POY banner at Paris/Horseshoe, home of the WSOP.

Image credit:

One Comment

  1. Tom Kuhlman says:

    Great job Ian! Followed you through out the WSOP events. You definitely earned it!
    Cousin Tom K.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *